A picture

Lake Erie Speedway to feature a Compact 25-lap special and Fireworks Extravaganza as part of Kwik Fill Night at the Races.


North East, PA (July 3, 2014): Exciting NASCAR Compacts will be the featured class this week with a twenty-five lap feature. The NASCAR Compacts have had some of the most competitive and excitement-filled features this season with Jeff Breads currently leading the point standings with two feature wins. Breads enjoys a large 57- point margin over his closest pursuer, winless (thus far) TJ Colby. Colby has been near the front of the pack every race so it appears it's only a matter of time for him to drive into Victory Lane. Jim Tobin, winner of two features including opening night, is third, only three back of Colby. Bob Moore and Philip Powell round out the top five and are within striking distance of the top three. All five of the top drivers are capable of winning, who can win with the extra five laps? Or will some driver from further back surprise the front runners?


The Plyler Overhead Door Modifieds have not yet had a repeat winner this season. Randy Culver, with a win, is the leader by seven points over Eric McCray, not yet a winner. Seventeen points back of McCray rides Chris Briggs, also not a winner. Terry Akerly and Dale Murdock are tied for fifth. The other feature winners this season include ninth in points Carter Mook, eleventh in points Scott Wylie, and opening night winner Chris Bailey Jr, who has only had one appearance and is currently 17th. Can one of the four repeat and become the first double winner or will the string of different winners continue?


Carl Vilardo IV leads the U.S. Legend Cars points by eight markers over Jeff Dunfee III. Neither Vilardo IV nor Dunfee III has made it to the winner's circle yet this season although they have both been very close. Two of the four weeks they were chasing third-running Brandon DeBrakeleer, winner of weeks one and two. Last week DeBrakeleer experienced mechanical ails very early in the event and was scored in last place, dropping him for the top two spot in the season-long points chase. Owen Bednasz and Jeff Ehert fill out the top five. The other two winners this season have been Jeremy Haudricourt and Evan Finley. Will DeBrakeleer bounce back to continue his early season domination? Will Vilardo IV or Dunfee III break into Victory Lane for the first time this season? Or will another join the ranks of the winners?


Dave Krawczyk has thoroughly dominated the NASCAR Street Stocks, thus far undefeated this season. As a result, he holds a massive 71-point lead for the Champion's title. Russ Conti is second with Jay Queen another 17 points back. Ed Hall and Chris Crossman fill out the top five. Can anybody stop Krawczyk's domination?


The Buell brothers have split the feature wins in the INEX Bandoleros with two wins each. Donald had problems early in last week's special so has fallen behind Daniel, now 17 points back. Dale Lombardo sits third, 27-points back. Chase Firestone is a close fourth, only three points back and Chris Breads is fifth. Can anyone break into the Buell brother's party at the finish line?


Following the racing entertainment a huge Independence Day Fireworks Extravaganza will be presented on the backstretch.


Grandstand Gates open at 5:00pm, Heat Races Begin at 6:00pm, and Feature Races Begin at 7:05pm. Tickets are $10 for adults, $5 for children 6-12 years old, and kids 5 and under are free.